Workshop Info

LOCATION

Olivette Community Center
1140 dielman rd
olivette, MO 63132
St. Louis County

DESCRIPTION

Based on Sun Style tai chi, an 8-week group designed to help older adults improve balance, flexibility, and posture. The program meets two days (1-hour classes) a week for 8 weeks. Proven to reduce the risk of falls by 70%, the program incorporates powerful Qi gong and breathing exercises. You do not have to have arthritis to participate.

Cadence: 2x a week for a period of 8 weeks = 16 sessions at 1 hour each.
Tai Chi is one of the most effective, easy to learn, exercises for health of mind and body. The TCAFP program is designed to improve multiple aspects of health through slow, gentle movements that can be practiced almost anywhere. The degree of exertion can be easily adjusted making this program suitable for adults of all levels and abilities but especially those with arthritic pain or concerned about falls. Published medical studies have shown benefits such as pain relief, improved balance and reduced falls. You will learn warm-up exercises, 6 Basic and 6 Advanced moves, and a cool down during 16 one hour classes. Harmony of inner and outer self comes from integrating mind and body, which can be achieved through the ongoing practice of tai chi.  

SCHEDULE

Date Start Time End Time
Wednesday - February 19, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Monday - February 24, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Wednesday - February 26, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Monday - March 2, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Wednesday - March 4, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Monday - March 9, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Wednesday - March 11, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Monday - March 16, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Wednesday - March 18, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Monday - March 23, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Wednesday - March 25, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Monday - March 30, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Wednesday - April 1, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Monday - April 6, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Wednesday - April 8, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM
Monday - April 13, 2020 3:25 PM 4:25 PM

TO ENROLL

If you would like to register for this workshop, please contact our office at (314) 862-4859 or via e-mail at msandbothe@oasisnet.org.