Workshop Info

LOCATION

Kirkwood Community Center
11 S Geyer Rd, Kirkwood, MO 63122
Kirkwood, MO 63122
St. Louis County

DESCRIPTION

Based on Sun Style tai chi, an 8-week group designed to help older adults improve balance, flexibility, and posture. The program meets two days (1-hour classes) a week for 8 weeks. Proven to reduce the risk of falls by 70%, the program incorporates powerful Qi gong and breathing exercises. You do not have to have arthritis to participate.

Cadence: 2x a week for a period of 8 weeks = 16 sessions at 1 hour each.
Tai Chi is one of the most effective, easy to learn, exercises for health of mind and body. The TCAFP program is designed to improve multiple aspects of health through slow, gentle movements that can be practiced almost anywhere. The degree of exertion can be easily adjusted making this program suitable for adults of all levels and abilities but especially those with arthritic pain or concerned about falls. Published medical studies have shown benefits such as pain relief, improved balance and reduced falls. You will learn warm-up exercises, 6 Basic and 6 Advanced moves, and a cool down during 16 one hour classes. Harmony of inner and outer self comes from integrating mind and body, which can be achieved through the ongoing practice of tai chi.  

SCHEDULE

Date Start Time End Time
Wednesday - February 19, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Friday - February 21, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Wednesday - February 26, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Friday - February 28, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Wednesday - March 4, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Friday - March 6, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Wednesday - March 11, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Friday - March 13, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Wednesday - March 18, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Friday - March 20, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Wednesday - March 25, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Friday - March 27, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Wednesday - April 1, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Friday - April 3, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Wednesday - April 8, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM
Friday - April 10, 2020 10:00 AM 11:00 AM

TO ENROLL

If you would like to register for this workshop, please contact our office at (314) 822-5855 or via e-mail at msandbothe@oasisnet.org.